question about the front foot and singles serve

question about the front foot and singles serve

avatar m

To superlenti, Well, we agree no to pause the racket motion in the middle of the swing!

If the racket is swinging back when they step forward then the serve has technically not started yet.

If stepping forward then forward swing of the racket starts after the foot lands.
.
9.2 Once the players are ready for the service, the first forward movement of the server’s racket head shall be the start of the service.

And if the back foot slides in its contact with the floor, the slide has to be after contact with the shuttle.


Note instead of 9.2, I had 11.2 as per 1992, though it amounts to the same thing just worded differently and with a different rule number.

11.2(as per 1992) Once the players have taken their positions, the first forward movement of the server’s racket is the start of the service. (Note, 1992 wording and rule number is only included because I had used that one before..)