National Schools Championships: Day Two

21 April, 2024

Reading School and Wilson’s School soared to gold in the boys’ competition at the National Schools Championships.

Reading triumphed in the Key Stage 4 age group as Wilson’s took the spoils in Key Stage 3 to tie up a brilliant weekend at the National Badminton Centre, including a signed shirt session from Badminton England’s Annie Lado.

In the Key Stage 4 round robin, Reading eased past Loughborough Grammar School 5-0 before an edgy contest with Wilson’s School saw them narrowly win 3-2.

The quartet of James Song, Sahil Cherukuru, Neerav Soni and Nived Neelakandan then stormed to a 4-1 victory over King Edward VI Five Ways School in their final group match to put them top of the Group A standings.

Heckmondwike Grammar School topped Key Stage 4 Group B with three wins from three.

In the semi-final match-up against Bedford School, the eventual bronze medallists, Reading once again took the spoils with a 5-0 win to set up their final bout and a rematch against Wilson’s for the title.

National Schools Badminton Championships

National Schools Badminton Championships

Wilson’s had similarly cruised through their semi-final, beating Heckmondwike 5-0.

The final saw Reading come away with a 4-1 win, their only loss coming to Aarush Chennadi and Nishil Modem in a tight 21-19 defeat.

Wilson’s Key Stage 3 saw a similar tale play out, with a dominating performance in the group stages securing back-to-back 5-0 victories over Altrincham Grammar School for Boys, King Ecgbert and Pate’s Grammar School.

With a squad of five players, Wilson’s were spoilt for choice in their team selection, with every athlete called into action.

An emphatic win in the semi-final against eventual bronze medallists Reading School saw just Kai Tian Yiu fall to defeat in a 21-11 singles loss to Akhil Gibi.

But wins for Abhay Gollapalle, Vincent Yuan, Aayush Reddy sealed the deal and sent the team through to the final.

There they faced undefeated Group B winners King Edward’s School Birmingham but soared to a decisive 4-1 victory to take the title.

Optimized by Optimole